Advisement to Dealers

A state law requires vendors to have a valid vendor’s license to be legal to conduct business and is to provide the show management the license number. Note: a change in securing vendor’s licenses was made 9/29/2000. Please be aware. There is only one type of vendor’s license in effect. It is a transient’s license required by every vendor to have at a cost of $25 good any place in Ohio. There is no renewal fee. A vendor’s license application form may be obtained from any county auditor’s office but must be sent to Columbus to obtain the license. Seneca County Auditor, 109 S. Washington St. (Corner of S. Washington St. & E. Market St.), Tiffin, Ohio 44883-2841 – PH 419-447-0692. Send payment of $25 made payable to “Treasurer State of Ohio” with application form to: Ohio Department of Taxation, Registration Unit, P.O. Box 182215, Columbus, Ohio 43218-2215, PH 1-800-282-1782. Info on web site: http://www.state.oh.use/tax/ Applications are also available from the Tiffin Flea Market upon request.

Vendor must have this license number and it must be on record with management to set up.

Rules and Regulations

 

 

SenecaCounty Jr. Fair Foundation committee

Tiffin Flea Market

2014

RULES & REGULATIONS

Please read all rules and regulations.If you have any questions, please contact Joan Zimmerman, flea market manager.

 

General Rules

  • Please show respect to our volunteers.  They are representing the Jr. Fair Foundation and are available to help you.
  • As a matter of public and visitor safety, we ask that no vehicles are driven within the flea market area during the hours of 9:00 am to 4:00 pm of the Flea Market week-end.
  • Volunteers will be circulating to collect fees at approximately 9:00 am on Saturday and Sunday.  We ask that you remain at your booth and have money ready to pay.  In the event you are not available or do not have your money, a $5.00 late fee will be charged!  Please inform collectors if you are using electric (i.e.: using a coffee pot, fan, heater, lights, etc.), camping or renting tables.
  • During set-up and tear down, PLEASE RESPECT other dealer space areas and their display.  The advanced paid spaces will be marked ‘RESERVED’ in white on the pavement.  All space boundaries will be painted or marked.
  • No Subletting by Vendors will be permitted.  Violations will terminate reservation.

Management

The flea market management reserves the right to:                

  • Must not display any items in violation of U.S. Trademark Law (knock-off purses, sunglasses, etc.) or any items in best interest of the public.
  • Refuse set up which is not to be in the interest of the flea market
  • Refuse set up of VENDOR not abiding by the rules described in this document, using abusive language or not following management instructions.
  • Disputes will be settled by the flea market management committee.  These rules will be enforced!
  • NO unauthorized golf carts permitted in show area.

Space Fee License Issued When Paid

By  paying a “Space Fee” you, your agents, employees and/or assigns hereby grants you a “License” to participate as a vendor in the Tiffin Flea Market sponsored by the Seneca County Junior Fair Foundation, an Ohio Not-For Profit Corporation, hereinafter referred to as Licensor.  You are a Licensee.  Licensee voluntarily assumes all risks incidental to the event for which the License is issued, whether occurring prior to, during or after the event.  Licensor reserves the right, without the refund of any portion of the entrance price, to refuse admission to or eject any person whose conduct is deemed by management to be disorderly, or who fails to comply with these or other licensor rules.

In the event of power failures, strikes, severe weather conditions, riots, war or other unforeseen events or catastrophes beyond the control of Licensor, at the sole discretion of licensor, you may be denied entry to the Flea Market or the Flea Market may be cancelled or time/date of the event may be changed.  In the event that you were denied entry to the Flea Market or the Flea Market was cancelled and not rescheduled, licensor shall refund the cost of your entry fee. 

 

Fairground Regulations

  • No guns or ammunitions is allowed to be sold or on the grounds. 
  • Fire Code regulates parking near buildings and has limitations on use of electricity from plug in circuits. 
  • NO SMOKING is permitted in the buildings, or within 25 feet of the entrance (this is monitored).
  • No vehicles in the buildings ($25.00 fee imposed upon the first offense).
  • NO DOGS allowed on the fairgrounds (signs are posted at all entrances).

 

Camping

  • Overnight camping is permitted.
  • Camping fee is $20.00 per night per vehicle.
  • Camping in designated areas only (per Seneca County Health District).

 

 

Table Rentals

  • Tables are available for rent at a rate of $6.00 each. 
  • Wet tables left uncovered are not exchangeable for dry tables.
  • Dealers must advise fee collectors they have rented tables.  Failure to advise will be a double fee per table.  
  • No table refunds!

Electric Fee

  • A flat fee of $3.00 per day for electric use.
  • Electric use consists of connections for coffee pot, fan, heater, lights, etc.
  • Please inform volunteers when they collect of use.

 

State of Ohio Vendor License

State law requires vendors to have a valid vendor’s license to be legal to conduct business.  The state also requires you to register the vendor number with the Flea Market manager.  (A reservation will not be accepted and no license will be issued without a vendor license number.)  There is only one type of vendor’s license in effect.  It is a “Transient’s license” required by every vendor.  The cost of the license is $25.00.  There is no renewal fee and the license can be used anywhere in the state of Ohio.  Please see the attached form in the event you do not have a license and would like to apply to the State of Ohio for your license.  Further information is available on the web site: Http://www.state.oh.use/tax.

 

You will be issued a “HANG TAG” to be displayed on your rearview mirror.  This must be visible to enter the flea market.  It will let management know that you have a “vendor’s license number” registered with the flea market manager.  You will be given 2 per vendor.  There will be a $5.00 fee per hang tag to replace if lost.

Food, Food and more Food!

Breakfast is served on Saturday and Sunday in the “YouthCenter” on the fairgrounds  by the Jr. Fair Foundation.

 Hours of serving are from 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Vendors and public are welcome.                                                                                                                             The building is air conditioned/heated and very comfortable with a nice dining area available. Carry outs are also available for your convenience.

The menu consists of a choice such as: 2 eggs sunny side/over easy/hard/scrambled with toast (white/wheat) and jelly, 1 egg in sandwich with choice of bread (sausage/bacon/cheese is optional); sausage gravy on biscuit; omelets, coffee, tea, juice and milk.

Thank you for supporting the efforts of our staff and 4-H volunteers.

Food Concessions

There are many food concessionaires on the fairgrounds serving a wide variety of food and drink.  Please patronize our food vendors while you are at the Flea Market.

(All food vendors are contracted)

Motel Information (Vendors inquire about discounts)

Name

City

Phone Number

 

Holiday Inn Express

Tiffin, OH

419-443-5100

 

Tiffin Motel

Tiffin, OH

419-447-7411

 

Best Western

Fostoria, OH

419-436-3600

 

Hampton Inn

Tiffin, OH

419-443-5300

 

Quality Inn            

Tiffin, OH

419-447-6313

 

 

 

Thank you for supporting the SenecaCounty Jr. Fair Foundation committee proceeds benefit the Junior Fair program at the Seneca County Fair

 

INSIDE SPACE RESERVATION

 

  • Show days are Saturday and Sunday (see schedule for dates).  Hours are 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.
  • Buildings will open for set-up on Friday from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm, on Saturday at 6:30 am and on Sunday at 8:00 am.  NO EARLY set-ups permitted.
  • Dealers must be in space by 7:00 am on Saturday or space will be considered vacant and payment forfeited.  Space can be released to another vendor per management’s discretion.
  • A dealer will not have priority to a space that misses two consecutive shows with exception for extenuating circumstances.  Dealers that have attended both days for 6 of 8 shows the previous year will have priority to their regular space until April 15, 2014. 
  • Space size is approximately a 10’ x 10’ area. (at manager’s discretion depending on building)
  • Space is limited by reservations.  A 2 day reservation for one space is $20.00, one day is 15.00.  Tables are available for rent at $6.00 each.  Reservation form and first show payment must be received by April 15, 2014.  Remaining reservations for the year must be paid in advance (by Wednesday of week before show).  Please inform Joan Zimmerman by Thursday at 9:00 am if you are not attending a show. No cancellation refunds after this time!
  • It is suggested the dealer remains at space after set-up, as you are responsible for your property. 
  • Set-up rules:  Please move your merchandise into the building, remove your vehicle to an appropriate parking space away from the building (but not at an outside vendor space), then return to your space to display your merchandise.  This will expedite the process for all vendors moving into the buildings.  We appreciate your cooperation in this matter!
  • No vehicles are permitted to park in front or back of the buildings or near entrances.  Parking is available by the boundary fence or in the parking lots.  Reminder, no vehicles in the buildings at any time!  A $25.00 fee will be imposed on the first offense!
  • Dealers must tear down space and be out of the buildings by 6:00 pm on Sunday.  Adjust your display/merchandise/help to comply with this request.
  • Please remain at your space and available to customers until 4:00 pm both Saturday and Sunday.  In the event of inclement weather an announcement will be made for early release.
  • Rain policy:  No space or rainy day refunds!
  • Please police your area before you leave.  Trash should be put in trash barrels and cardboard is to be broken down and placed next to the trash barrels.  Do not consider your unsold merchandise as trash!

 

Garage Sale Vendors

 (first come first serve, no advance reservations)

Allowed to exhibit at 2 flea market shows per year without having a state vendor’s license.

  • Show days are Saturday and Sunday (see schedule for dates).  Hours are 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.
  • No vehicles permitted on the grounds before 11:00 pm Friday of show weekend.  Vehicles, trailers, etc. will be charged an early arrival fee of $25.00 per day.
  • Spaces will open for set-up on Friday from 11:00 pm to 6:00 pm, on Saturday at 6:30 am and on Sunday at 8:00 am.  NO EARLY set-ups permitted.
  • It is suggested the dealer remains at space after set-up, as you are responsible for your property. 
  • You are responsible for maintaining your area and removing all merchandise, trash and cardboard at the end of the show. 
  • All garage sale vendors will be set up in the “Livestock pavilion” (just outside the Youth Center).
  • Cost per show is $15.00/day or $25.00 for two (2) days.
  • Table rent fee is $6.00 per table.
  • No electric available.
  • Space size is 12’6” (w) x 10’ (deep). 
  • Set-up rules:  Please move your merchandise into the building, remove your vehicle to an appropriate parking space away from the building, then return to your space to display your merchandise.  This will expedite the process for all vendors moving into the buildings.  We appreciate your cooperation in this matter!
  • Reminder, no vehicles in the buildings at any time!  A $25.00 fee will be imposed on the first offense!
  • Park in main parking area (not around the “Livestock Pavilion” or in the Youth Center Parking lot.
  • Please remain at your space and available to customers until 4:00 pm both Saturday and Sunday.  In the event of inclement weather an announcement will be made for early release.
  • Rain policy:  No space or rainy day refunds!
  • Please police your area before you leave.  Trash should be put in trash barrels and cardboard is to be broken down and placed next to the trash barrels.  Do not consider your unsold merchandise as trash!

 

GRANDSTAND AND ANTIQUE SHELTER RESERVATIONS

  • Show days are Saturday and Sunday (see schedule for dates).  Hours are 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.
  • No vehicles permitted on the grounds before 10:30 am Friday of show weekend.  Vehicles, trailers, etc. will be charged an early arrival fee of $25.00 per day.
  • Spaces will open for set-up on Friday from 10:30 am to 6:00 pm, on Saturday at 6:30 am and on Sunday at 8:00 am.  NO EARLY set-ups permitted.
  • Space size varies per area.
  • Reservations for space will be accepted no later than April 15, 2014.  Payment must be made in full along with the signed reservation form.   A reservation is for 1 space for 8 shows is $200.00 (reserve spaces pay in advance!).  Tables are available for rent at $6.00 each. 
  • Please inform Joan Zimmerman by Thursday at 9:00 am if you are not attending a show. No cancellation refunds.
  • It is suggested the dealer remains at space after set-up, as you are responsible for your property. 
  • Parking is available along the fence or in the parking lot.  Please be considerate of other vendor spaces and not block any vehicles. 
  • You are responsible for maintaining your area and removing all merchandise, trash and cardboard at the end of the show. 
  • Please remain at your space and available to customers until 4:00 pm both Saturday and Sunday.  In the event of inclement weather an announcement will be made for early release.
  • Rain policy:  No space or rainy day refunds!
  • Please police your area before you leave.  Trash should be put in trash barrels and cardboard is to be broken down and placed next to the trash barrels.  Do not consider your unsold merchandise as trash!

OUTSIDE SPACE RESERVATION

  • Show days are Saturday and Sunday (see schedule for dates).  Hours are 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.
  • No vehicles permitted on the grounds before 10:30 am Friday of show weekend.  Vehicles, trailers, etc. will be charged an early arrival fee of $25.00 per day.
  • Spaces will open for set-up on Friday from 10:30 am to 6:00 pm, on Saturday at 6:30 am and on Sunday at 8:00 am.  NO EARLY set-ups permitted.
  • In the event you should arrive early, the waiting line will form at Gate 5, outside the fence (follow the fence outside the horse barns, follow signs).  Vehicles in line may not hold spaces for others.  Violators will be put at the end of the line. 
  • Camping is available in designated areas for $20.00 for early arrivals.  You are expected to move to the line to be released for set-up.  Contact Joan Zimmerman to reserve camping space.
  • Once the line is released, please proceed to your space.  Please use markers or tables to clearly mark your space so that management knows you have arrived for the weekend.  In the event you choose to leave on Saturday after 4:00 pm and remove your merchandise, leave something visible so your space is not used for an incoming vendor on Sunday.
  • Space size is approximately a 15’ frontage x 20’ depth area. Frontage starts at the edge of the berm stone, not the pavement.  Please keep merchandise behind the painted line (for safety of visitors).  Paint lines will be visible to mark space width.    Selling off your trailer must be in the 15’ x 20’ allotted space.  If your trailer is out of the boundary, extra fees will be charged.  Corner spaces have depth limits.
  • Reserving a particular outside space(s) will be based on previous year’s space that vendor occupied.  Vendors who attended 6 to 8 shows during 2013 will have their regular outside reserved space held for them until April 15, 2014.  Payment must be made in full along with the signed reservation form.   A two (2) day reservation for one space is $25.00 for 8 shows is $200.00, annual payment only!  Tables are available for rent at $6.00 each. 
  • Other available reserved spaces must be paid in full by May 1, 2014 deadline.
  • Spaces available for 1 day set-up are available at a daily rate of $15.00 (no reservation needed).  Must report to office, with vendor number, prior to setting up.  Tables are available for rent at $6.00 each. 
  • Please inform Joan Zimmerman by Thursday at 9:00 am if you are not attending a show. No cancellation refunds.
  • It is suggested the dealer remains at space after set-up, as you are responsible for your property. 
  • One vehicle can park at the back of your space.  Additional parking is available along the fence or in the parking lot.  Please be considerate of other vendor spaces and not block any vehicles. 
  • You are responsible for maintaining your area and removing all merchandise, trash and cardboard at the end of the show. 
  • Please remain at your space and available to customers until 4:00 pm both Saturday and Sunday.  In the event of inclement weather an announcement will be made for early release.
  • Rain policy:  No space or rainy day refunds!
  • Please police your area before you leave.  Trash should be put in trash barrels and cardboard is to be broken down and placed next to the trash barrels.  Do not consider your unsold merchandise as trash!

 

COME AND VISIT THE “Fantastic” Tiffin Flea Market

{Below are links to the complete Forms.  Please please print and review them.}

Click Here for a complete list of the Rules and Regulations.

Click here for the Outside Space Reservation Form

Click here for the Inside Space Reservation Form

Click here for the Garage Sale Reservation Form